Turin University

Versione stampabileSend by emailPDF version

The XVII Italian-Hungarian Symposium on Spectrochemistry was held at the University of Turin (UniTo), Via Verdi 8 (Turin) exclusively in the on-line mode (link).

The University of Turin is an Italian public research university that consists of 27departments covering almost all academic disciplines. It was founded in 1404 by an edict of Pope Benedetto XIII. It then developed on the initiative of Prince Ludovico of Savoia-Acaja, who was willing to establish a University at a crossroads between the Alps, Liguria and Lombardy.

With over 75,000 students and more than 3,500 academic and administrative staff, the University of Turin is one of the country’s largest and most prestigious Universities. Many UniTo graduates have achieved international renown. Two famous alumni were Erasmo da Rotterdam (graduated in Theology in 1506) and Amedeo Avogadro (graduated in ecclesiastical Law in 1796). More recently, famous writers such as Cesare Pavese, Primo Levi and Umberto Eco, as well as three Nobel prices, Salvatore Luria, Rita Levi Montalcini and Renato Dulbecco, and two Presidents of the Italian Republic, Luigi Einaudi and Giuseppe Saragat, graduated at UniTo.

Today, the University of Turin offers over 150 undergraduate and postgraduate degrees, promoting culture and producing research, innovation, training and employment. It also acts at an international level through partnership arrangements with countries all over the world. International and local funding programmes, both public and private, support the University’s commitment to innovation and research. UniTo promotes knowledge transfer to industry through patent licensing and spin-offs, respecting economic, social and environmental sustainability.









Under the patronage of

Istituto Superiore di Sanità